History of Camp O-AT-KA
Camp O-AT-KA has a long and rich history. Thousands of boys have enjoyed Camp O-AT-KA, and we carry on the spirit and traditions of over a century of campers.
Our camp was founded in 1906 by Rev. Ernest Joseph Dennen, an Episcopal minister from Lynn, Massachusetts.
After a successful first season at a rented site, he purchased an old farmstead in East Sebago, an ideal spot for bringing the boys of his parish up from the city to reward the boys for their efforts in a character-building program he called the Order of Sir Galahad.
Twenty boys attended camp the first summer and slept in canvas tents. In 1907, the Bungalow was constructed and by 1930 the Great Hall, Commons, and the rest of the camp were built.
Today, O-AT-KA serves 150 campers at one time and has over sixty buildings, two playing fields, five tennis courts, a covered basketball court, rifle and archery ranges, and a seven-studio arts center. Members of the camp community come from more than 30 states and 15 foreign countries.
Did You Know?
- A Staff Member ran for the Maine State Legislature (and lost by less than 50 votes)
- Four members of the staff have been Head Coaches in either State or New England Championship Finals in Soccer, Tennis, and Lacrosse-two have won championships.
- Our staff is from Five Continents and 11 Countries, and 15 States.
- Our Program Director played the trombone (as he does at colors!!!) in the Stanford Alumni Band at the 2014 Rose Bowl.
- We have 16 current or retired educators on staff.
- Our Executive Director, is one of 12 people who have been named Honorary Citizen by the City of Hefei, China (a city of 10 million people, the capital of Anhui, Province)
- Our longest-standing staff member has been at O-AT-KA for 58 years.